Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 4th, 2009

Photo hunt: stripes

PhotoHunt

The meme has been going on for quite a while, and I just started participating recently.   There are a lot of great photographers participating, and it is worth it to visit the site and click around to visit.

The theme this week is stripes, and I have been cogitating about it for more than just this week.   There are so many takes on this idea:   I have  a great stripey cat picture, there are striped rocks, there are stripes on flowers, fabric, the Stars and Stripes, etc. etc. etc.   

Believe me when I tell you that everywhere I looked I saw stripes!   Finally, I decided that I would share a few of the over 1000 pictures I took when I spent 9 days rafting in the stripiest place I’ve ever been:  The Grand Canyon of the Colorado River.

We flew over it on our way to the South Rim the day before we hiked down to the River.

003canyon-wall-from-th-air

Down at the River, we could see all those striped strata up close.

064-emerging-from-garnet-canyon

056-spring-in-the-canyon

The closer you get to the rocks, the stripier they are.

148-little-water-fall-matkatamiba-creek

335-side-canyon-hike

206-beautiful-rock-in-national-canyon

Anyone who has spent any time around me in person or on my blog knows that I really wanted to take THAT rock home with me.   Too bad it was bigger than my duffel bag.  I couldn’t figure out how to carry it on the plane home, either.

My favorite image has to be the next one.   This is a maidenhair fern growing right out of the rock near a little waterfall on Havasu Creek.

181-maidenhair-fern-in-rock-2

This last image was not taken in the Grand Canyon, but near the headwaters of the Colorado River in Rocky Mountain National Park.   

colorado-kansas-105

Okay.  I could go on and on.   You get the picture.    The world is filled with stripes of all colors, shapes, and formed from myriads of media.   I can hardly wait to see what other people came up with.

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers