Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 1st, 2009

I’ve been away from the blogosphere for a while.  The main reason is that Jesse is here on leave, and somehow spending time with him seemed a lot more important than blogging.   Also, my 81 year old mother needed transportation to a convention up in St. Louis, and since it wasn’t going to cost anything extra for her to have a companion in her hotel room, I decided to take the opportunity to go up there.

I was motivated partly by her need for transport, but I recently read a review of a nursery called The Cottage Garden up in Godfrey, Illinois on Gardening Gone Wild, and I REALLY wanted to go there.    So I did, and it was definitely worth the trip.   It was all the reviewer said, and more.  The proprietor was very friendly and we had a wonderful conversation.   I wished I had taken a lot more money along, but I was able to limit myself to what my budget would allow and came away with some lovely additions for the Mini Prairie.

The next day I went over to the Missouri Botanical Garden, mostly because I knew the day lilies would be blooming and I wanted to have a look at some of the cultivars available.   I have some holes in my garden that need filling, and I can’t think of a better way to fill them than some new day lilies.   While I was wandering around taking pictures, I couldn’t help but remember a conversation I had with someone about a year ago.   She was talking about how she really wanted to have some flowers in her border around her deck, but that she wasn’t very committed to taking care of them.   “They’d need to be really hardy and able to thrive on neglect.”   I mentioned that perhaps she would enjoy having some day lilies, as they are pretty durable.   “Oh,” she replied airily.   “I don’t like day lilies much.   I mean, they’re all just orange.”

I had no response to this comment, as my breath was about knocked out of me by it.   So, in honor of that conversation, here, in no particular order, are a selection of the beauties I saw on my walk through the MBG day lily collection.

DSCF3508

Raven Woodsong

DSCF3531

Thin Man

DSCF3512

Cat Claws

DSCF3541

Lavender Blue Baby

DSCF3553

Gothic Butterfly

DSCF3506

ChristinaCook

DSCF3547

Paper Butterfly

I could go on and on, but you get the idea.   Just orange my foot.

The other thing that was a pleasant surprise was that the Dale Chihuly installation of glass art turned out to be a permanent installation at some areas.   I read an article about the display of Chihuly’s art, and I really wanted to see it.  But I also knew that the exhibition was over and so I was pleasantly surprised when I entered the gardens and found the gates in the rose garden adorned thus:

DSCF3611

Of course, I had to try to get a close-up of the individual components of the gates.

DSCF3463

Then, over at the Victorian Water Lily Reflecting Pond, there was another installation.

DSCF3473

DSCF3468

DSCF3474

I love the way the glass seems to glow in the sun.  Finally, over in the Climatron (which you can see in the background of the first picture in this group of three), there was a wonderful installation in one of the ponds there.   It looked like some kind of wild tropical plants.

DSCF3601

And so I’m off, licking my wounds just a trifle.   I entered the Gardening Gone Wild photo contest for June and just went and discovered the results.   I have no problem with the decision of the judge, Debra Lee Baldwin.   The winning entry was spectacular and beautiful.   What hurt my feelings was that Ms. Baldwin did not content herself with lauding the winner.   She went on to talk about several other entries as well; also not a problem.   Their photos were beautiful and their roses fabulous.  But by the time she was done with her commentary, she had mentioned 24 of the 31 entries and provided links to them in her judging entry.    So I am left with the rather bitter and sad questions:   “What was so unremarkable about my photo and my blog that it didn’t even get a link?   Is my blog so boring and my gardens so ugly that I don’t even get mentioned in the catch-all paragraph?   Is my photography that crappy?”    I’m sure there are six other people who are asking themselves the same sort of questions.    It would not have been so hurtful if she hadn’t mentioned and linked to 75% of the entries.   The ones left out in the cold — how are we supposed to feel?

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers