Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 9th, 2009

After the freeze

It appears that we have weathered the deep-freeze of Monday night with no discernible damage.  

In addition to doing some massages, I spent all day Tuesday washing sheets and hanging them out on the line, putting buckets and trash cans and coolers away.    I suppose I might have been able to get away with putting the sheets on the line to dry if there hadn’t been a gale blowing when we were preparing for the cold night.   As it was, we had to weight the sheets down with rocks, which involved getting dirt on the linens.  So they needed to be run through the washing machine before I could put them back in storage.   

At least Tuesday was a great drying day:  warm and sunny with a brisk breeze.  Today I was wandering around the place checking out the situation, and I honestly don’t see that the place suffered much damage at all.  

The plums appear to have healthy little green fruit on them.

dscf2006

This is gratifying, because the wild plum thickets, which were way too big to protect, did not fare so well.  I doubt if we are going to get any plums from them this year.    

The apple tree that was ready to bloom out a few days ago has proceeded to do so.   I don’t detect that it minded the big chill.

dscf2003

Behind the house, the bleeding heart survived quite nicely.   I didn’t trust it to bare air, the big pink one had a Rubbermaid storage box over it, the small white one had a cooler over it and the hosta in front was sheltered by a bucket.

dscf2011

The group of plants that really astonished me was all my clematis vines.   I fully expected them to at least have some frost burn on them, but look at this one.   Notice the buds on it all ready to burst in a couple of weeks.

dscf2010

The rest of them look pretty much the same.   Freeze?   What freeze?

The Rose Garden is looking prime.   I protected the baby peonies and the budded out roses with buckets and garbage cans.   The tulips and daffodils had to fend for themselve, and did quite nicely.   

dscf2009

The daffodils you are looking at have been featured before.   But this is the first that the  Tulipa maximowiczii (That’s a mouthful, isn’t it?) has bloomed.   It is the red one back by the rock in the background.   Here is a close-up of the group.

dscf2007

Carol over at May Dreams Gardens has featured the species tulips on her blog: here, here and here (so far).   I agree with her on how wonderful these little jewels are.    I join her in urging people to start experiencing these tiny treasures.   I can testify from my personal experience that they truly do multiply over time.    

This is an example of how a planting of six bulbs looks after three (or possibly four) years in a place they like.   I planted these all around the border of a section of bed in the front yard where I had a special day lily.    Now, they are ready to open as soon as a fine day arrives.   These are Tulipa clusiana var. chrysantha, which I acquired three (or maybe four) years ago from my favorite bulb broker, McClure and Zimmerman.  

dscf1999

The day lily isn’t doing too bad either.

The front garden survived as well, I did cover the peony for the night of cold.   I think it was just as well I did.   

dscf2001

Today we are enjoying a grey, cool day with a nice slow soaking rain.  It’s great pea growing weather.

And, that’s all the news that’s fit to print.   So to speak.

Read Full Post »